Burleson High School

Home of the Elks

School News

  • BHS Student Earns All-State Honors

    Noah Teer, freshman trumpet player in the Burleson High School Wind Ensemble, was selected for the 2018 Texas Music Educators Association 5A All-State Band during Area B Auditions Saturday, January 13th at Coppell HS. He is one of only twenty-one students state-wide selected for this honor.

    Teer will face the other twenty all-state trumpet students during auditions to be held on February 14th in San Antonio for chair placement. There he will rehearse with the All-State Band for three days as they prepare their performance to be premiered on Saturday, February 17th in Lila Cockrell Theater of the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center.

    Teer is only the second freshman in the history of Burleson High School to earn all-state honors. He studies privately with Angela Gipson Rimbach of Crowley.

    in News on January 17, 2018
  • BISD School of Choice Night

    in News on January 12, 2018
  • TSI Registration now Open

    Registration for the next TSI administration is open! The next exam will be on February 9th, bring your $15.00 exam fee to Ms. Knight in the Academic Office to register.

    in News on January 9, 2018
  • Still Time To Order A Yearbook

    If you have not ordered your copy of the 2018 The Elk please do so by going to smart-pay.com. Copies will be $85 until January 31st. We will only order 50-100 books after that date and those books will be pre-sold for $95 on a first come, first serve basis.

    in News on January 8, 2018
  • Softball Spaghetti Dinner & Silent Auction

    in News on January 8, 2018
  • BHS Student Winners at BISD Film Festival

    The BHS Audio Visual Department did amazingly well at the Fourth Annual BISD Film Festival last week. We had over 70 films submitted, and all of our BHS kids did a great job. But make sure you congratulate our winners: Sebastion Davalos-Garcia, Cameron Goldsberry, and Riley Riddle won for best soundtrack. John Hauch won for Best Drama. Cole Whitehurst won for Best Costuming and Best Comedy. Austin Hill, Gabe Reeves, and Katlyn Whitley won for Best Overall Film. Great work!

    in News on December 18, 2017
  • Volleyball All Johnson Country Award Winners

    Congrats to our 4 Volleyball All Johnson Country award winners.

    Mia Smalls-Setter of the Year

    Emily Rich-Newcomer of the Year

    Jailah Ivory-1st Team

    Sarah Reid-2nd Team

    Congrats ladies!

    in News on December 14, 2017
  • Burleson Opportunity Fund Scholarship

    The 2018-2019 Burleson Opportunity Fund Scholarship Application will be open Monday, December 11th.

    The BOF Scholarship Fund is a non-merit based scholarship that can be used for up to 2 consecutive years of tuition and fees at Hill College. BISD students and Burleson residents who are on track to graduate in the 2017-2018 school year from high school are eligible to apply.

    Application requirements/ deadlines and scholarship requirements can be found at this link: BOF Info Sheet

    All questions and application requirements should be sent to asiffordbof@gmail.com

    in News on December 7, 2017
  • Volleyball Season Results

    Your Lady Elk volleyball teams had an amazing season. Along with that they have received some amazing awards! District 9-5A volleyball awards:

    Blocker of the year- Jailah Ivory

    Setter of the Year- Mia Smalls

    Newcomer of the Year-Emily Rich

    1st Team Outside Hitter-Ellie Strebeck

    2nd Team Middle Blocker-Sarah Reid

    2nd Team Libero-Makayla Davison

    Honorable Mentioned-Kyra Smith, Kirstie Gonterman, Madison McCall

    Academic All District- Kirstie Gonterman, Madelyn Gregory, Emily Howell, Jailah Ivory, Madison Lewis, Madison McCall, Kenady Moore, Sarah Reid, Emily Rich, Kyleigh Rich, Mia Smalls, Kyra Smith, Ellie Strebeck.

    Congrats to these ladies!

    in News on November 6, 2017
  • Region Choir Results

    The Burleson H.S. Choir department hosted the Region 30 Region Choir and 9/10 Honor Choir Auditions this past weekend. We had approximately 850 students from around the area involved the audition. We are proud to announce that the following honor choir results:

    Hailee Williams, Soprano 1, placed in the District Choir.

    We had eight students place in the 9/10 Honor Choir. They are:

    Abbigail Sones – Soprano

    Cameron Allen – Alto

    Amber Hammonds – Alto

    Vegas Jankowski – Alto

    Emilee Trevino – Alto

    Hannah Watson – Alto

    Danae Wenger – Alto

    Jaden Gonzalez – Tenor

    in News on October 16, 2017